Home > Electrical/Electronics > Computer (I.T) > How To Stop Your Iphone From Keeping Track Of All The Places You Visit

How To Stop Your Iphone From Keeping Track Of All The Places You Visit

Many iPhone users might not realise that their device has been keeping a list of all the places they’ve visited, how many times they’ve been there and the exact date they went

We all know that the technology we use gathers information about us in various ways.

For instance, we recently saw the assumptions Google makes about us based on the things we search for online – including our age, relationship status and how many children we may or may not have.

But if you’re an iPhone user, were you aware that your device has been keeping track of everywhere you go, how many times you visit certain places and the exact date that you were there?

If this setting is enabled on your phone a delve into your privacy settings will reveal a list of places believed to be ‘significant’ for you.

According to Apple, these locations are used to provide you with personalised services, “such as predictive traffic routing, and to build better Photos Memories”.

An example of this might be that by knowing where you live and work, your phone can give you tailored timing information to help with your commute.

All of the data is encrypted and stored only on your device. Apple says it will never be shared without your consent, so no one else will have access to your significant locations.

READ ALSO  Check Your Phone Now – Warning Signs Someone Is Spying On You

And even if a friend is using your phone they cannot see these locations without your password or face/touch ID to unlock them.

So how do you see your significant locations?

An Apple iPhone Xs Max (R) and iPhone Xs rest on a table during a launch event
You can check your significant locations in the privacy settings of your iPhone 

2. Tap on the Privacy section

3. Click on Location Services

4. Scroll to the very bottom of the page

5. Tap on System Services

6. Go to the Significant Locations tab

7. Log in with Face ID, Touch ID or your passcode

Once you’ve logged in, you’ll see a list of cities and towns you’ve visited.

Clicking on a specific place will take you to another screen showing a more detailed breakdown of the streets/roads you were on, how many times you went there and when.

This setting can be turned off if you don’t like the idea that your phone knows where you’ve been and you can also clear your recent history in the settings.

Source: Mirror

Total Views: 77 ,
0
0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *