Home > Electrical/Electronics > Engineers Recommend Demolition Of Okorocha’s Tunnels

Engineers Recommend Demolition Of Okorocha’s Tunnels

Imo State government led by Emeka Ihedioha of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has been advised to demolish the two tunnels built by Rochas Okorocha in Owerri to avert tragedy.

This was part of the recommendations of the committee set up by the government to conduct integrity test on bridges, tunnels and related structures in the state. The panel comprised members of the Nigerian Society of Engineers (NSE).

The tunnels at Concorde Hotel and House of Assembly junctions were constructed by the immediate past administration of Okorocha.

The committee headed by the NSE state chairman, Luke Uzoigwe, also urged the governor to demolish all illegal structures built along the green verges of the roads, de-silt Lake Nwaebele and Otammiri River to tackle flooding in Owerri.

It also canvassed the removal of all buildings on the water lines and retention basins.

Presenting the report on behalf of the chairman, Kingsley Onwubiko said most of the structures done by Okorocha failed integrity test, as they were not only built contrary to design specifications with substandard materials but also went against the original master plan of the state capital.

Meanwhile, Ihadioha will this morning swear in former Minister of State for Education, Prof. Viola Onwuliri, and 16 others as commissioners in the state.

READ ALSO  Walking Robot Design Could Facilitate Large-Scale Construction Projects In Space

The governor had forwarded their names to the 27-member House of Assembly who screened them.

Secretary to the State Government (SSG), Uche Onyeagucha, stated on Monday night that the ceremony would take place at the Sam Mbakwe Expanded Executive Council Chambers, Douglas House, Owerri at 10 a.m., urging the appointees, their families and guests to be seated by 9.30 a.m.

Others on the list are Prof. Uchenna Uwaleke, Nicholas Amaefule, Chijioke Nzekwe, Ekezie Okeahialam, Meekam Mgbenwelu, Umez-Eronini Unaeze, Mrs. Imma Ibekwe, Dr. Vincent Udokwu, Bon Unachukwu, Sly Enwerem, Chief Emmanuel Nwaogu and Tony Okere.

Source: Guradian

Total Views: 32 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *